I read to relax. I usually don’t like to read books that require too much thinking or ones that have a serious story line. I like reading lighthearted, funny, romance novels or comedies that could in a sense be real life.

My favourite book of all time has to be The Woman Who Went To Bed For A Year by Sue Townsend. It is laugh out loud funny, I laughed from the first chapter to the last. It is the one book I recommend to people over and over again.

I have read some really good books over the last few months so I thought I would share them with you and hopefully give you some inspo if you are looking some.


 

The Silent Wife – Kerry Fisher

Slightly different from my usual choice but I found it to be a great read.

Lara’s life looked surface perfect but her husband was overpowering, he had the last say on everything. She lived her life tiptoeing around him until her new sister-in-law came along. A story a lot of women can probably relate to.

I could clearly visualise everything in my head. A really good gripping read from start to finish.


 

Flawed – Cecelia Ahern

wasn’t sure how I felt about this book when I first started reading it and it took me about 5 chapters before I started to enjoy it. It is a fiction book but it REALLY fictional if you get me, I am pretty sure that the story would never become a reality (never say never 😉 )

It is based on a country where people who make bad life decisions get branded as Flawed. The main character breaks one of the rules and now she faces the punishment that goes with it.

It isn’t for everyone but it did keep my attention when I got into it.


 

The Summer House By The Sea – Jenny Oliver

think I knew by the title that I would like this one. I am a sucker for a romance novel no matter how cheesy 😉 I loved reading it.

The main character Ava decides to spend one last summer at her grandmothers summer house before her brother sells up. The book is filled with a mixture of emotions and romance and some harsh truths.

 

I loved reading it.


 

The Light Between The Oceans – M L Stedman

Another book I wouldn’t usually choose.

It shows how far a woman would go to become a mother. When a maternal instinct is there it is hard to ignore. Life isn’t as easy as it seems on Janus Rock for Isabel and Tom and they are a long way from home.

Another book that many women can relate to.

It has been made into a film as well for those of you who aren’t that keen on books


 

The Second Love of My Life – Victoria Walter

A book that shows us how life doesn’t always go to plan and that we don’t always know the people that are around us.

It also shows us that we should never give up and that there is a light at the end of the darkness. Rose has had it tough but she comes through in the end.

 


 

Thats my lot for now.

I didn’t want to give too much away about each of the books or there isn’t much point you reading them. I am always looking book recommendations, I always jot the titles down so when I am in the market for a new one I always have a list. I also take pictures in Asda of their book charts to give me inspo – I have a Kindle so not much point me buying them 🙂

I hope you enjoyed my recommendations and if you have any for me I would love to hear from you.

Until next time…

Jordyn

 

If you would like to follow some of my other content you can follow the links below

Facebook // Instagram

 

 

Leave a comment