Good evening fellow readers and welcome to my new blog post on my recent holiday.

So recently I have been quiet on my WordPress and my Facebook – the reason?

Work was so hectic 2 weeks before I left I literally didn’t know whether I was coming or going.

As I pretty much run the whole place I had to organise everything so it would run smoothly whilst I was away – this took me almost 2 weeks to do.

But onto my holiday – I was never so glad to see the Premier Inn at Dublin Airport – I started to relax as soon as we got to our room

We stayed in the Premier Inn the night before our flight as it was early morning and also because it worked out the same price to stay there for 1 night and park our car as it was to park the car alone in a car park.

We flew to Chicago first with American Airlines. Flight was great massive plane and inseat TV’s for everyone (not all American Airline flights have inseat TV’s).

 

14368857_10153941236843785_7262696591000685281_n
Walking to Grant Park

We arrived into Chicago and used Go Express to get to the centre takes approx 1 hour during the day. We stay in the MileNorth Hotel which I cannot recommend enough! It was right in the centre with every thing near us! It is a 4* Boutique hotel just off Michigan Avenue (perfect location). Their prices don’t include breakfast but they have a buffet option although its a bit expensive for the limited selection – my advice is to find somewhere close by, there are lots of places.

 

14369863_10153941236143785_4987438986725460070_n
Millenium Park – The Bean

 

 

Chicago isn’t a very big city – well compared to others that we have visited but it sure is beautiful. A guy in our airport transfer said its like a clean New York and I couldn’t disagree with him at the end of our trip. The architecture is stunning – beautiful buildings everywhere.

We booked a hop on hop off before we left (its cheaper that way), this is a great way to get round the city. We did one round trip to see everything and get our bearings and after that we then decided to hop on hop off as we pleased at the places we wanted to visit and used it almost like a taxi.

I did some research before I left for Chicago and wrote down a list of things to do so we ticked them off as we went – I think there was only 2 things we didn’t do and they were only extras we had added on. Having a list done it easier to remember what to do. We made sure to do things that were near each other so we didn’t have to go back to that area if we didn’t want to.

14440958_10153941238413785_4821590459942980849_n
Overlooking Lakeshore Drive from John Hancock 360 Observation Deck

 

With Chicago being a smaller city and providing your hotel is central like our its possible to walk most places especially if the weather is good.

We did a lot of strolling through the streets downtown especially under the railway lines. Its just like how you see it in the movies.

Things we did

  • Hop on Hop off Bus – we used Chicago Trolley
  • John Hancock – 360 Observation deck – alternative option is Willis Tower Sky Deck
  • Shedd Aquarium – great aqurium but pricy at $40 per person – can easily spend half a day there
  • Navy Pier – beautiful walk around – lots of restaurants, we chose Giordanos   – good Pizza
  • Chicago Riverwalk – this is a beautiful walk, make sure to start at one end rather than in the middle. Great walk to see lovely buildings.
  • Buckingham fountain
  • Lincoln Park
  • Lincoln Park Zoo – free to do and well worth it. Its a bit out of the city so try renting bikes to get there or take an uber
  • Grant Park
  • Millenium Park – The Bean, this was one of my favourite parts – nice restaurants round this area
  • Chicago Theatre – we just seen the sign but didn’t do a tour.
  • Lakeshore Drive Beach
  • Magnificent Mile/Michigan Avenue – shopping
  • Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago – can get your picture taken with $1 million
  • Water Tower Place – for shopping
  • Maggy Daley Park

 

14441050_10153944206403785_6204402297941243077_n
Chicago Theatre

 

What we didn’t do on our list

  • Museums – Not really our thing
  • Wrigley Field
  • We seen Solider Field  but didn’t go in
  • Green Mill Cocktail bar – Alcapone used to frequent there – bit gutted we didn’t do it
  • River Boat Tours

I’m sure there are other but these are the things we didn’t do

Highlights for me

  • The Bean
  • Grounds around Buckingham Fountain
  • Chicago Riverwalk
  • Lincoln Park Zoo
  • Shedd Aquarium
  • Chicago Riverwalk
  • 360 Observation Deck

My Tips

  • Try a Giordano’s Pizza
  • Book a hotel on Magnificent Mile/Michigan Avenue
  • Book a hop on hop off bus
  • Go to Lincoln Park Zoo – not too many free zoo’s left out there
  • Go to State Street area for some great bars and eateries

 

14433179_10153947884633785_2448786792868177330_n
Lincoln Park Zoo

 

 

I think around 4 full days in Chicago to do/see what we did was enough – if you wanted to do the museums I would add another day in there. We didn’t rush to see things we just took the city in our stride and enjoyed the atmosphere of it all.

Chicago is beautiful city and should be on everyones travel list, if any of you would like to know anything more about Chicago get in contact and I’ll see if I can help

Next up on my blog will be our Caribbean Cruise with Royal Caribbean

 

Jordyn 😀

X

 

 

Leave a comment