Hey everyone,

Back in August I went looking for a new foundation as I just wasn’t feeling my Estée Lauder Double Wear anymore.

The Double Wear is fantastic for coverage and I really need the coverage with my blemishes, so I was after a product with similar coverage if not as good and with the staying power of the Double Wear.

I turned to MAC’s Studio Fix Fluid

There are a few reasons for me choosing MAC – there are lots of good reviews about it, only make up brand in the airport (I was doing some duty free shopping) that appealed to me, better shade selection and the coverage is similar to Double Wear.

So what do I think so far??

So far so good… I’ve been using it now for 4 days plus 1 day back in August.

Pros

  • Good coverage
  • Smells good
  • Doesn’t sit thick on your skin
  • Goes on very smooth
  • Has silky feel
  • Feels weightless on your face
  • Removes easily
  • Good coverage after 12 hours
  • Easily touched up
  • Doesn’t dehydrate skin
  • Can choose between warm or cold tone shades
  • Cheaper than Estée Lauder Double Wear
  • You don’t need much product

Cons

  • Need to buy pump separatly (I didn’t buy one but I will next time I pass MAC store)
  • Hard to get out of bottle
  • Easily wiped off – I don’t mean when taking your makeup off but during the day if you touch your face

There aren’t many cons of the MAC Studio Fix Fluid that I have experience but the last con point led me to purchasing Smashbox Photo Finish – Oil Free (important if you are like me and suffer breakouts)

image

I bought the Smashbox in the hope that it would keep the make up on my skin better – It helps a bit but not as much as I thought but I’ll keep using it to see if it gets better.

Before you use the Smashbox make sure to shake it well or it comes out very watery.

It feels lovely on your skin – very silky with very little smell and you only need a small amount to cover your face.

 

Hopefully they will keep agreeing with my skin because so far it’s all good.

I bought the NW (neutral warm) tone as I told the girl that I found the double wear a bit yellow so she suggested going for NW. The other tone of MAC is  NC (neutral cool)

NW – Pink undertones    NC – Yellow undertones

I am not a pro in choosing foundation and by far not an expert in beauty but I thought I would share my experience of these products so far.

Hopefully this post can be of some help to some of you as shopping for foundation can be a total pain. One person says one colour an another says a different colour… You get the point 😉

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed it 🙂

Jx

 

 

5 thoughts on “MAC & Smashbox Review

  1. I recommend Vichy dermablend . But I never tyr Mac before . Thanks for this review mayby when I next time in Belfast I buy and try Mac.

    Like

Leave a comment